Student Travel Grants

The 5th IEEE International Conference on Trust, Privacy, and Security in Intelligent Systems and Applications (IEEE TPS-2023) encourages students to participate in the conference (and its co-located events) by partially subsidizing their travel costs up to a maximum of $1000. These student travel grants are supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Eligibility and Selection Process

Support is available for selected undergraduate or graduate students from US universities. The selection process will give preference to students without sufficient travel funding. Students from underrepresented groups are strongly encouraged to apply.

How to Apply

Students must fill out the student grant application and provide the following attachments needed in their application:

  • Current CV
  • Brief personal statement summarizing research interests, accomplishments to date, and an explanation of how they can benefit from attending IEEE TPS-2023.
  • Letter of support from the student’s research adviser that explicitly addresses the following 3 points:
    • Confirm that the student is in good academic standing
    • State the availability (or lack thereof) of travel funds for the student from NSF and/or other Federal funding agencies; and
    • State whether they will be able to cover any additional cost of travel in excess of the travel award.
Important Dates
  • (Extended) Application Due: Sep. 21stOct. 4th, 2023
  • (Extended) Notification: Sep. 25thOct. 6th, 2023

Applications submitted outside of the submission period are not guaranteed to be considered.

Travel Grant Requirements and Payment

Student travel grant awardees are expected to actively participate in the conference including a student mentoring workshop. The travel grants will be in the form of reimbursement. The awardees will be provided the instructions to submit the required forms and receipts for processing the reimbursement after the conference.

Any questions about the travel grants should be sent to the Student Travel Grant Chair, Amir Masoumzadeh.